maybe you have nothing to say, but i am still asking. why?

i have this counter going on the blog. sometime earlier this year i got rid of it. because it started controlling my moods. on a good count day i was all confident and high; on a bad count day i was full of self doubt.
then the blog and i came to an understanding. we are there for each other, first and foremost. rest is only coincidental. so i started a new counter. and then i also added the mapping widget. through this little window i know the location of the numbers. people who stumble into or seek out my blog.
on an average there are about 100-120 hits a week, of late.
some i know are repeat visitors.
i have a lot to say on my blog. and i have a lot to say on other people’s blogs, as well. and i am wondering why these folks have nothing to say on mine? why are they not de-lurking?
and i’ve tried to reason out why so few (or hardly any) of those who drop by actually comment.
here are my Top 10 reasons why most passers-by don’t comment:
1. they are so overwhelmed by my wit and skill, they are speechless.
2. they are secret admirers and have a fan club going behind my blog-back.
3. they don’t understand what i write.
4. they mock me in silence, as they are too polite to voice what they really think.
5. i am plain boring.
6. they landed here by mistake. they were looking for quiet qatar not quite qatar.
7. the widget folks, in a bid to popularise their products, are doctoring the counter and mapping.
8. a glitch in technology doesn’t deliver the comments to my box.
9. they are scared that by commenting, they’d encourage me to ramble on further.
10. it’s all maya!

13 thoughts on “maybe you have nothing to say, but i am still asking. why?

  1. Deeps says:

    really,Sindhu???You have a fanclub??Pls give me the details,I'll join too!
    I'd go with reason1 and a bit of no3…some of the issues that you cover just seem to go over my head and I'm left wondering "am I so dumb?"
    I simply love all your posts on motherhood & O…I look forward to reading about them.
    Keep it going,V..You'r doing great!

  2. umm oviya says:

    of course i am very opinionated. that’s why i have this blog. doesn’t take a genius to figure that out. but about other points of view? as long as they are from people with names and guts, i am open, mate. but cowardly, anons? not so sure.

  3. Pollux aka Paps says:

    V: Me, I fall into two categories: bit of lazy and always in a rush, as not enuff time;-)

    Now I ask you – how do you find so much time??????? I can barely blog once a week. do tell me your secret, V.

  4. umm oviya says:

    if i tell you that kiwi, i will be in deep trouble with a bunch of folks… let’s just say i’m a lousy housekeeper and fantastic multi-tasker😉

  5. Gayatri says:

    Hi

    Nice blog.
    I read various parents’ perspectives and see if i can implement with my own.
    I left comments on couple of other blogs and never got to see them (not that i am desperate to see my name in print/blog!:) ). So, these days i’m not sure if I can leave a comment or not.
    hugs to your daughter.

    Gayatri

  6. umm oviya says:

    welcome here G. I have an open door policy on comments. i don’t moderate or choose. you can say whatever you want. come back!

I would love to hear your feedback. So write to me: umm.of.on@gmail.com

