How do you tell someone they stink?

Or how certain can you be that you are not a bit stinky yourself?

How do you handle a situation like this?

There is nothing wrong with some honest sweat. But if you can’t be bothered to take care of basic hygiene,  and wear the same clothes 2 days running during real bad humid weather, then that just isn’t acceptable.

With family you can be frank.

With friends, you can find a way.

But what about those you work with? Or acquaintances?

How do you tell them that if they are allergic to deodorants then perhaps during summer, bathing twice a day and changing garments regularly should help?

Bad breath can still be handled. You can offer them chewing gum or mouth freshener.

But BO?

Consider this a cry for help… how’s the best (most unhurtful) way of telling someone they stink?

And more importantly, is there a surefire way of ensuring that you are not smelling? Can one smell their own BO? Is it because you can’t smell yourself that you fail to take care of the problem?

Suggestions please.

8 thoughts on “How do you tell someone they stink?

  1. Teesu says:

    Hmmm. Very tough one. I have a cousin with BO. V nice and all, and quite close, but this is a tough one.

    Off the top of my head: Gift the person a deo or body spray? Or go on about body sprays and how paranoid YOU are about BO? And ask the other conversationally, what he or she uses? Give airy tips on how often to use and what measures YOU take to prevent BO?

    • UmmON says:

      good suggestion… but after this post I have to be careful. you remember that FRIENDS episode where Rachel uses Joey’s pick up story, on Ross. Everybody will know what I’m getting at. But it is UNBEARABLE at times.

  2. Sindhu says:

    Oh, that is tricky…I too wonder why can’t we smell our own stink? I am a very smell conscious person, smells puts me off… but I wouldn’t dare to ever mention that they stink to somebody…never.

  3. UmmON says:

    just leave a post-it sindhu. and write with your left hand, so i or whoever else won’t know it’s you🙂

  4. Deeps says:

    crack up a random conversation with the ‘person’ about how BO is a serious issue and how you and he/she should do something about it to bring about awareness and all that and see how that person reacts!

    And to answer the other question about how to know if you are smelling yourself,my answer would be to ask your spouse..thats what I do..I ask R😀😀

    • UmmON says:

      i do that too… i ask my ‘r’. but when i am coming in to office from a sweaty outing, N is invariably the victim, and I’ve pounced on her a couple of times asking her to give me a smell-report.🙂

      • Deeps says:

        ha ha…now with the present condition N is in I have my doubts if she will even wait for you to pounce on her…theres every chance that it might be the other way round😉

I would love to hear your feedback. So write to me: umm.of.on@gmail.com

