Imitation is the sincerest of flattery: Charles Caleb Colton

Am not sure he really knew what he was talking about.

Once or twice, yes. Probably flattering. Then it’s just plain tiring! And I don’t think it’s sincere at any point.

I am more than a little fed up of being copied all the time. What I do, expressions I use, things I buy or do, the way I talk to people, even trying to cosy up to my friends…

The worst thing is, it’s not done because I am a diva. It’s done for the exact opposite reason. “If she can, why can’t I” kind of thing.

GRR! There, I’ve said it at the cost of sounding petty. But, what the heck! Maturity is for grown-ups, and I have a long way to go.

5 thoughts on “Imitation is the sincerest of flattery: Charles Caleb Colton

  1. Indian Homemaker says:

    I thought this post was about plagiarism! Two bloggers found there posts copied and no credit given, yesterday 😦

    What you describe sounds like you are being seen as competition… or maybe a challenge?

    • UmmON says:

      how do you keep track of people copying your stuff? there must be some kind of code embedded when you cut/paste right?
      and i don’t think it’s either of the two. i can’t quite put my finger on it, cos the person is quite nice really.

  2. shyam says:

    Hey, how’d I miss seeing this post???

    Anyway, they can’t THINK like you, no matter how much they copy you 🙂 So flip ’em the bird and rejoice in being the piper (however unwillingly) and not the rats! 😀

I would love to hear your feedback. So write to me: umm.of.on@gmail.com

