To all the mums who fake it…

… about motherhood being the greatest joy! Happy mother’s day.

This is a toast to all the dysfunctional mothers out there… who hardly ever get it right;

Who know that what they do could be done a hundred times better;

Who would rather sleep in late than cook up a wholesome breakfast;

Who’d rather take their scrabble turns than read to their child;

Who would jump at an opportunity to leave their child with a friend to get a pedicure;

And who still manage to manipulate their children into blind adoration, or grudging respect;

Cheers! You deserve to put your feet up and sip on a vodka.

What we do, even if only reluctantly, is more than what mere humans were meant to do.

20 thoughts on “To all the mums who fake it…

  1. Kisara says:

    β€Ž:D πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ I was laughing from the title of the post downwards! Happy Mother’s day you absolute gombili πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ :D! And PS – you are a wonderful mom β™₯!

  2. Writerzblock says:

    Ha ha ha!!! I soooo loved this post. I certainly am a dysfunctional mum, and after reading this, I don’t even feel guilty about it. Happy Mother’s day!!! Adding you to my reader, so I don’t miss out on any more such fun reads!

  3. Navina Anand says:

    Love it ! I consciously did not even wish my mother… I had just had a major fight with her a couple of days ago and I know she would scoff at me if I wished her on mother’s day !!

  4. rekha says:

    Loved this post to the hilt.. somebody chose to put the real mothers on the front.. and yes count me in as a part of the group ‘dysfunctional’ and yes… also the ‘vodka’..bring it on πŸ˜‰

  5. UmmON says:

    from fb:
    Kisara Yatiyawela β€Ž:D πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ I was laughing from the title of the post downwards! Happy Mother’s day you absolute gombili πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ :D! And PS – you are a wonderful mom β™₯!
    Sunday at 20:11 Β· Like
    Nadira Mendis Amarasinghe What K said!!!
    Sunday at 20:24 Β· Like
    Christina Menezes Happy Mother’s day to you!….loved the post, esp the closing!
    Yesterday at 07:37 Β· Like
    Vani Saraswathi thankee ppl. Kisara Yatiyawela am sure would say that. blind as she is to all my faults πŸ˜‰
    Yesterday at 10:31 Β· Like
    Kisara Yatiyawela β€ŽVani I have 20-20, X-ray level vision with friends and I am resolutely sticking to my opinion! Ok fine… if you won’t buy that at least credit me with good taste :D!

  6. Amira Abed says:

    Ohhhhhhhhhhh Yaaaaaaaa. Beautifully said

    Now I can stop feeling guilty, I swear. I have to admit the best Mum stuff I do nowadays is cuddle them after they’re fast asleep, making up for a long day of saying ‘No’ , ‘Later’ and ‘Do u think I’m yr maid?’

I would love to hear your feedback. So write to me: umm.of.on@gmail.com

