the tag that isn’t…

This was not meant to be a tag. But I am making it one from here, because I liked it so…

Written By Regina Brett, 90 years of The Plain Dealer, Cleveland, Ohio

“To celebrate growing older, I wrote the 45 lessons life taught me. It is the most-requested column I’ve ever written.”

1.Life isn’t fair, but it’s still good. (It’s been more fair than otherwise to me, it is indeed GOOD!)

2. When in doubt, just take the next small step. (Very slowly)

3. Life is too short to waste time hating anyone. (Yes, I can’t hate people I have known — except 1 man, I can forgive, not forget and move on most of the time. Easier to hate those with whom you have had no interaction, and know only thru the media)


4. Your job won’t take care of you when you are sick. Your friends and parents will. Stay in touch. (Yes. But if your job is paying your bills, don’t treat it lightly. Respect it enough.)

5. Pay off your credit every month. (I am GRINNING. Except for the house loan, I don’t really build up credit. I don’t have a credit card here, and only have one for travel in India.)

6. You don’t have to win every argument. Agree to disagree. (Yes, but if the other person is pushy about having the last word, boy, will I push harder!)

7. Cry with someone. It’s more healing than crying alone. (Can only do that with R, no one else. For it to be healing. Actually it’s not with him, but to him.)

8. It’s OK to get angry with God. He can take it. (This is beyond my understanding and belief — or lack of.)

9. Save for retirement starting with your first pay cheque. (No plans to retire. But do plan for emergencies)

10. When it comes to chocolate, resistance is futile. (Mangoes are my weakness, not chocolates)

11. Make peace with your past so it won’t screw up the present. (With somethings/people, yes. Others more diff)

12. It’s OK to let your children see you cry. (Equally important is to show them you can get over it)

13. Don’t compare your life to others. You have no idea what their journey is all about. (Everyday, this is the message I give my firstborn)

14. If a relationship has to be a secret, you shouldn’t be in it. 

15. Everything can change in the blink of an eye. But don’t worry; God never blinks. (Yes, it can. And that change can be something beautiful and peaceful. I am living one of those blinks now!)

16. Take a deep breath. It calms the mind. (Eases pain too) 

17. Get rid of anything that isn’t useful, beautiful or joyful. (And create a variation of that for people too)

18. Whatever doesn’t kill you really does make you stronger.

19. It’s never too late to have a happy childhood. But the second one is up to you no one else.

20. When it to going after what you love in life, don’t take no for an answer.

21. Burn the candles, use the nice sheets, wear the fancy lingerie. Don’t save it for a special occasion, today is special.

22. Over prepare, then go with the flow. (First a struggle. Second is easy)

23. Be eccentric now. Don’t wait for old age to wear purple. (Now if only the people around me would stop complaining)

24. The most important sex organ is the brain.

25. No one is in charge of your happiness but you.

26. Frame every so-called disaster with these words ‘In five years, will this matter?’ (So true. This too shall pass…)

27. Always choose life.

28. Forgive everyone everything. (Almost. But certain things can’t be forgiven. Certain violations deserves no forgiveness)

29. What other people think of you is none of your business. (Their burden to carry, not mine!)

30. Time heals almost everything. Give time. (And words. Writing heals. A journal helps.)

31. However good or bad a situation is, it will change.

32. Don’t take yourself so seriously. No one else does. (Except when it comes to your health — wish I did)

33. Believe in miracles. (I believe in the power of goodwill. I guess that’s what she means?)

34. God loves you because of who God is, not because of anything you did or didn’t do. (Greek and latin!)

35. Don’t audit life. Show up and make the most of it now.

36. Growing old beats the alternative — dying young.

37. Your children get only one childhood.

38. All that truly matters in the end is that you loved. (And are loved)

39. Get outside every day. Miracles are waiting everywhere.
40. If we all threw our problems in a pile and saw everyone else’s, we’d grab ours back. (I am with MM here, I am holding tight to my problems🙂 )

41. Envy is waste of time. You already have all you need. (First is true, and I never do for ‘things’, maybe for opportunities. But second, I am not sure. Too stagnant.)

42. The best is yet to come.

43. No matter how you feel, get up, dress up and show up. (I can get up and show up, dressing up is a struggle)

44. Yield. (In what you invest in the people around you, and in YOURSELF)

45. Life isn’t tied with a bow, but it’s still a gift.

One thought on “the tag that isn’t…

I would love to hear your feedback. So write to me: umm.of.on@gmail.com

