Eleven Years of Motherhood…

…Have been very KIND. And I have my first born to thank for it.

Eleven years ago, to the day, I realized how high my pain threshold was.

Over these past years I’ve realized the depth of a blinding, incoherent love.

Today I am overwhelmed by the thought of protecting the innocence of my first born. She is 11, and very excited to be growing up.

I don’t want her to be my baby forever, because I enjoy too much the lovely person she is growing up to be.

I just don’t want the essence of who she is to be diluted in any way: Her delight at the smallest things, her willingness to express gratitude for the simplest favours/gestures, her sensitivity towards self and others, the strong sense of family (friends included), her quick laugh, and ready forgiveness.

Thank you darling for eleven years of motherhood, which have been a breeze because of how oblivious you have been to my faults and how you choose to magnify my little successes.

Sand Angel

7 thoughts on “Eleven Years of Motherhood…

  1. soulsearchingdays says:

    Hi, sometimes it comes across as eerie.. our thoughts are so similar ..may be because even I am a mother of soon to be 11 year old daughter and believe me I feel my child is an angel compared to me.. like you rightly put it, she ignores the monster me and glorifies my little sometimes very small efforts and successes.. sometimes I feel I am the worst mother one could ever think of.. it’s so guilt ridden.. this whole thing… well..sorry for the rant on your comments section..

    take care

  2. Anu says:

    Parenting is never easy! It was very nice to read your piece. I often look back on my parenting mistakes and shudder. And like you I realize I am so lucky to have son who is a sweetheart and makes me look like a really good mom!

I would love to hear your feedback. So write to me: umm.of.on@gmail.com

