The world may or may not end in 10 days

Either way I am happy to be here now.

Having said that, with just 10 days left, this is what I’ve decided:

  • Humility can speak to my middle finger.
  • Those who take no part in my joy are not going to be allowed any role in my sadness.
  • I’d rather be right than nice.
  • I am going to show off my cleavage, because I love it.
  • And I am going to go buy those roller blades, asap.

Now to more profound musings, ahem!

Everyday I hear people talk about what an awful world we live in.

But the narrative of conflict and discrimination is as old as life itself. That narrative got bloodier because of religion. Despite that single most useless discovery of man, we as a race have reached such staggering heights of achievements, I am happy to be alive, and part of this history.

The magnitude of dreams and aspirations around me makes me breathless. There are times when I pull up by the side of the road or pause my life to just completely take in and enjoy something inspiring–Usain Bolt’s new record, Adele singing Skyfall, Baumgartner’s jump, a chapter from The Game of Thrones, the robot camel jockey, my daughters’ untiring appetite for hugs, my sisters’ maniacal protectiveness, my husband’s silent and blind support.

Just as often I stop to mourn an orphaned child, a bereaved mother, a monument destructed, a community devastated.

I am part of both these threads.

What makes this world so fabulous is that we don’t allow our evilness to totally eliminate all the good we are capable of.

While there is still such abject poverty in India, I am happy it doesn’t stop my country from pursuing its scientific ambitions.
For all the xenophobia in the US, a man whose second name’s Hussein has been reelected.
That after centuries of colonisation, the UK allows immigrants to build their lives in its lands.
That despite its poor human rights record at home, Qatar aspires to help people in areas of conflict.

It’s not a perfect life, but it’s a wonderful one all the same. It’s a world I don’t regret bringing my children into.

If the Mayans were right after all—and didn’t merely run out of tablet–I won’t be sad that the world ceases to exist.

3 thoughts on “The world may or may not end in 10 days

  1. shammi says:

    Where did my comment go? 😦
    Anyway, what I’d said was that if it does end, I don’t mind. If it doesn’t end, there are going to be an awful lot of people regretting their hasty actions in selling up, moving out, spending everything etc… Pretty much like every other time that the world has been predicted to end 🙂

  2. Laksha says:

    lovely – all nof what you said is what keeps us going. Focussing on the good and not the bad all the time – it’s what makes the world turn and it’s good to remind ourselves and appreciate every now and then. BTW, how did the roller blading (skates?) go?

I would love to hear your feedback. So write to me: umm.of.on@gmail.com

